Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

It’s November!

with 2 comments

How many times have I written of my astonishment at the arrival of a new month? November is here. This morning there is a beautiful fire in our fireplace and the clocks have been changed back to standard time. The pump has been removed from our little landscape pond and the leaves covering the surface are locked in a layer of ice.

The garden hoses (we had a dozen of them strewn about the place) have all been drained, coiled, and stored. It feels like November. The one family on our country “block” that came trick-or-treating for Halloween last year, showed up again Friday night. Luckily, this year Cyndie had purchased candy, so we treated the one family, and yesterday I tried to eat all the rest.

“Oops, I slipped and another chocolate-almond-coconut concoction flew into my mouth.”

Cyndie recently coerced me to spend some time on a jigsaw puzzle by pitching in to spread out the pieces and flip them all face-up. Puzzling is both soothing and exhilarating for me, and it always evokes pleasant memories of assembling them when I was young. I find that dallying on jigsaw puzzles while listening to well-loved music tends to bring new depth to old songs. The music seems richer and the puzzling becomes doubly so. I finished the puzzle Friday night.DSCN2570e

Yesterday, I drove the Grizzly around and collected all the stacks of cut wood that have accumulated from the trees that either fell in the wind, or were cut to clear trails and fence lines. There is no shortage of wood to be split and stacked in the shed. Meanwhile, there are still tree trunks under brush piles that remain to be sawed into fireplace logs, after I chip the branches above them.

Last night I had a dream that involved my needing to plow snow. As shocking as it is to accept that the month has already arrived, it definitely feels like November to me now.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

November 2, 2014 at 9:29 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This reminded me about my hoses! Winds here are 40 miles an hour today so they will have to wait until tomorrow, lol! I love having a puzzle and a fire going in the winter too.

    Cynthia

    November 2, 2014 at 9:46 am

    • The wind makes a MAJOR difference in a day. Our winds have been variable this weekend. It seemed calm enough when I began an effort to move a pile of leaves to a perfect drop spot, but whenever I tried to dump them out, there arose a flurrying breeze that blew the leaves every which way. November adventures…

      johnwhays

      November 2, 2014 at 10:23 am


Leave a Reply

