Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Scary Sound

with 7 comments

Last week, in the middle of the day when I was sitting in the house having lunch, there was a crash in the garage that was so loud that I was hesitant to even look to see what it was. It sounded like something had crashed against the inside wall, just feet away from where I was sitting.

I imagined a critter of some sort. It would have needed to be the size of a bison. I tried to think what hung on that wall that could have come loose and crashed down. If someone, or some animal, was in there, I wasn’t up for the confrontation. I kept eating.

After lunch, as I meandered about, washing my utensils and plate, throwing away trash, walking toward the door to toss recycling… I decided to take a look.

Nothing.

There was nothing amiss. No shelves tipped over. Nothing that had fallen off the wall. As I describe this, it occurs to me that I should have suspected a tree branch out back. That’s what it ended up being last time I went through this experience of trying to identify what caused the crash I heard that sounded like this.

With no evidence apparent, I went about my business and quickly forgot all about it …until much later when Cyndie arrived home. The second that I heard the garage door opener failing to lift the door for her, I realized what had caused that sound. The torsion spring that counter-balances the weight of the door had broken!

IMG_4143eIt took until yesterday to get a garage door service technician to show up. After two days of delay and rescheduling, I expected him to show in the morning to take measurements that would allow him to get the proper spring on order. When he didn’t show up, or call, I began to struggle with deciding to seek an alternative company.

Why is it so hard to get people to show up here to do work for us? Well, in this case, it is because he is an owner of a 2-person business and they have more work than they can handle expediently. I had left him a message, and was awaiting a reply that would help me decide about calling someone else for assistance.

Hours passed, in which I cleaned the garage, raked leaves, and chased Delilah through the woods after she darted out the door when I was hoping to give her some time off leash, running for tossed discs. She fooled me and took off like a shot, after squirrels in the neighboring woods, instead of for my stupid flying discs. Bad dog!

My faith in humanity was salvaged when Brian finally called in the late afternoon to report he was on his way and had picked up springs he thought would be the correct ones. I got a quick lesson in some very simple steps I could have done to maintain the doors in good working order. He tightened loose nuts. That’s something I could have easily taken care of, had I simply done a close visual inspection. He adjusted one track, and lubricated all the rollers and the spring, itself. I would not have known to do the spring.

Think about it. Every time the door opens and closes, the spring torques and it is rubbing against itself on both sides of each coil. Lubricate it. I can do that!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

November 4, 2014 at 7:00 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A very delayed “thanks”!!! πŸ™‚

    Rich

    November 10, 2014 at 10:13 am

  2. You and Delilah always makes me laugh!!

    Cynthia

    November 4, 2014 at 10:42 am

    • That’s a perfect response for our shenanigans. I usually get around to laughing with her, but too often it is after wrestling myself back from a place of angry, frustrated curses in the heat of the moment. πŸ™‚

      johnwhays

      November 4, 2014 at 3:20 pm

      • Oh yes, I can imagine that part too. My dog Harvey is like a goat. Every time I bring him out with me he makes a beeline for the garden and eats everything in sight… makes me so mad! Geez , where were my grammar skills this morning? lol

        Cynthia

        November 4, 2014 at 9:47 pm

  3. What kind of lubricant on the spring, John? WD-40?

    Rich

    November 4, 2014 at 9:52 am

    • That would work. The serviceman used a liquid wrench spray, I believe. My garage sure smells like WD-40 today, so they are probably a pretty similar formula.

      johnwhays

      November 4, 2014 at 3:18 pm


Leave a Reply

