Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Stitches Out

with 2 comments

We traveled to the big city yesterday for Cyndie’s follow-up appointment to have the surgeon’s nurse inspect the incision and remove the two stitches in the long wound. The way modern medicine closes surgical wounds in this day and age amazes me. Everything looks good and Cyndie says she is a lot more comfortable having that sticky bandage finally removed. Her movements have improved visibly as a result.

This morning our farrier, George, is coming to trim the horse’s hooves. It was scheduled on his calendar after the last appointment, but I had completely lost track of it. Luckily, he sent a text alerting me. Suddenly my morning routine is squeezed a bit.

The horses were in good spirits when I showed up to serve their a.m. feed and put out hay. I’m hoping they will be cooperative for me in an hour, because Cyndie will not be able to do more than offer moral support as I take on the role of chief handler for George as he works.

Delilah is another challenge. She has been hyper-focused on critters out the window and doing her worst to destroy glass and window trim to claw her way after them from inside. We have tried resorting to instant “time-out” when she loses control and jumps at the window, bringing her back to the spiral staircase and leashing her in place for a spell. After the second instance in a row this morning, instead of lying down in acceptance of her fate, she took to boldly barking her defiance.

I tried the “ignore” technique, because I was busy trying to write, but that didn’t help Cyndie. She couldn’t stand it. I understand that totally. There are plenty of times when I absolutely can’t tolerate the bark. It’s interesting that I was determined enough to try to finish my task with the looming appointment in the barn creating a tight deadline, that I was fine in this instance with letting the loud bark float in one ear and out the other.

The dog will unfortunately be restrained in her kennel during the hoof trimming today, since we don’t have enough hands to tend to everyone at once. Sadly, I think her time in the kennel while we were gone yesterday is the reason for her rambunctiousness today. It just means I will have to give her extra attention this afternoon.

I have taken to letting her run off leash inside the pasture fencing, while I toss discs for her to chase. The fence has worked well to keep her from giving in to the urge to dash off into the woods after some tempting scent, even though she can finagle under it if allowed. The lowest strand is not electrified, and I think she has figured that out.

Time to go prepare the horses for their hoof-icure appointment!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

December 6, 2014 at 10:31 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Our most recent and favorite dog training aid is called Pet Corrector. A bright orange can of compressed air that our pups respect! At the sound of the doorbell we give a command “back” and a hiss from the can and they silence and back away, now I just pick up the can and have their attention! The “leave it” command is great for anything we don’t want them into. There’s also a pocket/purse size to be always prepared 🙂

    Big Hugs to Cyndie healing energy…

    Judy

    December 6, 2014 at 1:53 pm

    • Hey, thanks. Pet Corrector sounds like a good tool for behavior modification.

      johnwhays

      December 6, 2014 at 11:37 pm


Leave a Reply

