Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Few Photos

with 4 comments

Our friend, Ian, was hoping for photos of our frolicking with the dog and horses… The weather yesterday was particularly warm and very sunny, but the horses weren’t in much of a frolicking mood. It was so serene that I think they were lulled into an irreversible calm.

It was quality time for all, regardless. Cyndie brought out her camera and captured some of the action. I unclipped Delilah to play a little “Oblio and Arrow Triangle Toss.” I’m pretty sure we won.

DSC03512eCDSC03518eC.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

We then mingled with the horses.

Except for an occasional outburst from someone’s dog down the valley, it was amazingly quiet outside. The fact that the Green Bay Packers were playing in the NFC Championship game at that hour may have contributed to the absence of any outdoor activity. The barking dog was irresistible to Delilah, so to keep her from running off to answer its call, I had to reconnect her leash after we finished our play. We wandered up to the horses, who had moved to the shade of the barn overhang to get out of the hot sun.

Or maybe it was to eat hay.

I crouched down to mediate potential interaction between the horses and Delilah, then snapped a shot of the view Delilah sees when she looks up at Legacy. I can see why she is a little intimidated.

DSC03486eCDSCN2723e.

.

.

.

.

.

.

DSC03539eC..

.

Everyone was very calm and relaxed during our visit. I think it helped to burn some of Delilah’s extra energy before our interaction with the horses at such close proximity. It is nice to spend time in the horse’s space when we have no actual demands to ask of them. We just lingered together and that was enough.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

January 19, 2015 at 7:00 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It was sunny and clearly very bright with all the reflecting snow. Delilah certainly frolicked enough for all concerned. It is amazing just how much energy she has!

    Ian Rowcliffe

    January 19, 2015 at 8:35 am

    • Yes, Ian, I have to dig deep in myself to muster the energy to keep up with her. Never sure whether it means she is keeping me young, or aging me faster.

      johnwhays

      January 20, 2015 at 8:39 am

  2. I Love all the pictures. I would love to be there. We miss you all so much. I can feel the calmness and the energy. congratulations!

    C´Ubuntu

    January 19, 2015 at 7:24 am

    • Thank you, Dunia! We miss you, Marco, and your boys, too. I find myself hearing your sons’ voices in my head, still a year after your visit. I treasure that.

      johnwhays

      January 20, 2015 at 8:37 am


Leave a Reply

