Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Who Cares?

with 4 comments

DSC03455eLife is pretty great when it involves staying home everyday and taking care of our animals, but there is no denying a sense of isolation that shows up on occasion. My world is horses, a dog, and occasionally a cat. Currently it is also snow and snow plowing, wood splitting, and walking our snow-packed trails. It is pretty idyllic.

I scan news headlines and feel far removed from everything I see. Issues like the struggles in Syria and Ukraine, Islamic State terrorists, Boko Haram mass kidnappings, epic snow storms in and around Boston, measles outbreaks, and million dollar lottery jackpots. If any ripples from the daily top news events are making it to the middle of our country onto our precious property, they are so dampened that I cannot detect them.

I live in the luxury of not needing to notice. At the same time, I can’t help being influenced by struggles in other places. Closer to home, there are ongoing difficulties that family and friends face which have some measure of influence on my psyche. That is something that I can more tangibly grasp and contribute my thoughts of love toward.

Most difficult for me is when the person I am closest to is heavily burdened by the ongoing challenges of her professional responsibilities. I think that is my Kryptonite.

One of my defense mechanisms for dealing with all the world’s ills is to not care. It seems like a poor choice of reaction, but it is a superficial method of saving myself. Deep down, I really do care, and am moved by the suffering of fellow human beings. What I mean by superficially not caring is that I move past the tough news without dwelling too long on any one issue.

When I have the strength to do battle for people or causes, I become active in those with which I am connected and which are within my reach to help. As a person living with depressive tendencies, I need to pay attention to maintain a healthy balance in my “reason to live” file. Feeling like you can do nothing to help others in this world is a dangerous mindset to allow. Even if my only contribution ends up being that I send love out into the world, that is significant for me. It reflects that I am healthy enough to make that choice.

A depressed person generally wouldn’t be so inclined.

Who cares? I do. Really, I do. Even if I pretend that I don’t.

I’m sending love.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

February 12, 2015 at 7:00 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. We share lots of love for our friends! Thanks for yours sent, see you soon. Barb and Mike

    Mike and Barb Wilkus

    February 13, 2015 at 11:05 pm

    • Thanks! We treasure your friendship and are thrilled you are coming! I wonder if Cyndie will bake caramel rolls…

      johnwhays

      February 14, 2015 at 9:22 am

  2. Our actions and how we choose to lead our lives make a huge difference, more than we could know, in my humble opinion

    Cynthia

    February 12, 2015 at 8:54 pm


Leave a Reply

