Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love the logo!

    C´Ubuntu

    April 8, 2015 at 6:55 pm

  2. I love the logo…don’t know you well yet but it’s great! Really like the subtle yin yang 🙂 Thanks so much for your support 🙂

    lorriebowden

    March 24, 2015 at 7:18 pm

    • Thank you, Lorrie! I like that informed souls will recognize the message implied. I applaud your series about your healing journey. You are welcomed with open arms to visit us one day and experience the amazing insights available through simply being in proximity with our horses, or wandering our labyrinth garden.
      It is my honor to be counted among your supporters. You are most welcome.

      johnwhays

      March 24, 2015 at 7:28 pm

      • Ah!! John! Horses were my only friends for the first 7 years of my life!! And the first time I walked a labyrinth (on my 50th birthday) I was sooooooo moved!! Thank you so much for your support…and for your wonderful invitation 🙂 I need to come back to your site to explore more…your peace is felt!! Have a super wonderful day!! ❤

        lorriebowden

        March 25, 2015 at 6:27 am

  3. Looks great! Who designed it? And is there a post I missed that explains more about what it is exactly that you plan to do/offer? I’m a little fuzzy on your plans…the kids asked if it was to do pony rides and I was pretty confident that wasn’t the intention. 😉

    Liz

    March 9, 2015 at 8:57 am

    • Our logo was designed for us by Lynda Zurn (http://about.me/lyndaz). I don’t know that there is a single post that describes our plan. That is probably because we tend to keep making it up as we go along. Your kids are too cute. Probably not going to be pony rides.
      Honestly, I still defer to Cyndie to define what she will offer in seminars, but basically it will be equine assisted education along the lines of personal development, leadership, and psychotherapy.

      johnwhays

      March 9, 2015 at 10:08 am

  4. Yes, she only really got going in the second part and, since I had read her book, her ideas were easy to assimilate. What she didn’t go into much was how you define a goal and possible obstacles to it and then create a parallel process using horses to help you jump start the process – it is in the book, though. That said, subtle simple processes like ‘lean on me’ and the ‘imaginal self’ are great starters with far reaching implications. The good news is that you don’t need great riding skills and may yet achieve them more efficiently with the approach. Hence, good for beginners and also as a means to working through mental blocks and personal problems. Target groups could be youth but perhaps even mature adults wanting to recover their sensibility and take on life. For you and I, we might work at some hands on experiences in the area for our own benefit:-) Besides this, she mentioned the heart centered approach but not in her book: the process of unconditional love offered by the horses (at times), the compassion it makes possible, the vision of harmony that you become aware of and the healing realized. You could work through that with a traumatized child or ‘damaged’ adult, just being with them together with a horse that relates. Of course even without the relatively structured approach, which is helpful to explain what is taking place, you and I have been sapped by certain moments of peace that the horses extend to us. The good news once again: we know what we are looking to help others experience. In sum, I hope that gives you some ideas to find your target audience. The problem is more at the logistics of the process, I suspect. You know simply getting people there with the time to spare in a world of competing demands…

    Ian Rowcliffe

    March 9, 2015 at 8:31 am

    • I would like to read her book. I’m still slowly beginning to grasp that all this isn’t merely Cyndie’s domain that I agreed to support, but something I’ve been drawn into as a more active and knowledgeable participant.

      johnwhays

      March 9, 2015 at 9:59 am

      • THAT is a most profound and extremely relevant conclusion – it is going to take your clear, astute and meaningful insights to facilitate the process. Cyndie knows that you are her most valid member of the team. You are pragmatic enough to make things work. The process may be very similar to dealing with snow or the changing nature of water. That is, getting a realistic assessment of a situation and befriending it.

        Ian Rowcliffe

        March 10, 2015 at 9:45 am

  5. It looks just the ticket. Who are your target audience exactly?

    Ian Rowcliffe

    March 8, 2015 at 2:38 pm

    • That’s a great question. Cyndie will ultimately need to determine that. When I make that reference, I good-naturedly am alluding to the as of yet undefined people who seek what we will be able to provide.

      johnwhays

      March 8, 2015 at 9:44 pm

      • Yes, so did the PB talk today help?

        Ian Rowcliffe

        March 9, 2015 at 3:41 am

      • You are hours ahead of us! I only got started, about halfway through Part 1. Moving a bit slow for me thus far, though. Hoping to make time to give it better attention after chores.

        johnwhays

        March 9, 2015 at 7:52 am

  6. Beautiful !!! I love it! Congratulations!!!!

    C´Ubuntu

    March 7, 2015 at 8:48 am

  7. Perfect!

    Sara

    March 7, 2015 at 8:02 am

  8. Love it!

    Barry

    March 7, 2015 at 7:49 am


Leave a Reply

