Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Amazing Journey

with 12 comments

I used to live in a city neighborhood and I used to live in a suburb. Now I live in a rural setting. The differences are dramatic, as well as subtle. The common element of each is, me. Obviously, I bring my perspective to each setting. The different environments influence me, yet I interpret each place through my personal filter.

As a human being, my filter is basically similar to all the other humans interpreting their environmental influences. I feel what everyone feels about each of the three habitats. As an individual, my perspective is not identical to all others, but specific to me. We can generalize about the hectic pace of crowded places and the mellowness of open land, but individuals have the capacity to find their own mellowness in a hectic environment, or excitement over all that is found in being alone and outdoors.

People have the ability to compartmentalize their lives, and as such will become isolated and detached from that which is less familiar. For most of my life, horses were a mere blip on my radar. I knew of people who were horse lovers, but I was not so inclined. I married a person who was interested in horses, but she was far from consumed with a focus on them, so the impact on me was negligible.

DSC03535eNow I have a close relationship with a herd of 4 horses. I have become another person in a huge group of people with strong interests in horses. I am new to this group, and I bring my unique perspective, but I expect that I appear to the rest of the world as just another horse lover. On the surface, that is accurate, but there is more depth to all of our stories and I am inspired to figure out what about mine I should be endeavoring to tell.

Some days my amazing journey leaves me speechless. Oftentimes, I simply write about what I do, putting one foot in front of the other and tending to daily chores. There is more to it, I know, and I have a sense it is percolating within me in preparation for being told.

I’m letting it simmer a bit, while continuing to embrace and savor the breadth and depth of my wild ride.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

March 9, 2015 at 7:48 am

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. One time, I was petting a horse somewhere. There were other horses, and I wanted to pet them all. So I go. I turn around, and the horse I had petted first was there. The next thing I knew, I had horse slobber all over my jacket!

    dorianp123

    March 16, 2015 at 5:26 pm

    • The horse was petting you back, maybe. šŸ™‚ It is special to approach a horse and be accepted, and I find it even more special when they choose to approach me.

      johnwhays

      March 16, 2015 at 5:32 pm

  2. This horse is amazing.

    dorianp123

    March 10, 2015 at 1:39 pm

  3. Awesome picture, worth a thousand words!

    Judy

    March 9, 2015 at 11:55 am

    • Thank you! Wow! That would be worth two 500-word posts, then. Hmmm.

      johnwhays

      March 9, 2015 at 6:07 pm

  4. You are describing you own Hero’s Journey, John… and you have already so many episodes in place. It is a neat framework to work with because you get to realize, celebrate and share the ‘treasure’ you bring home with you:-). Helping others to formulate that verbally may be a key to your future, I think. You see, it is one thing to experience something and yet another to know what exactly has taken place and how to maximize the benefits. You have a way with words that reflects an uncommon sensitivity and kinship that may work wonders as yet untold and to be written.

    Ian Rowcliffe

    March 9, 2015 at 8:46 am

    • There is no doubt that going through the exercise of putting experience into words in order to effectively convey the true depth of said experience to others is a powerful way of absorbing it for oneself.
      As always, your support and inspiration is working wonders to help us uncover and discover the multitude of possibilities. I spend so much time writing for my own benefit that at times I forget about the potential it has to benefit others, as well!

      johnwhays

      March 9, 2015 at 10:18 am

      • Well, I have noticed it often when you describe your visitors, in particular, and special family moments of course.

        Ian Rowcliffe

        March 9, 2015 at 4:07 pm

  5. What a fabulous photo!!!!

    Mary

    March 9, 2015 at 8:25 am

    • Thank you! You helped me realize I had neglected to include credit that Cyndie captured that image.

      johnwhays

      March 9, 2015 at 9:52 am

      • John, you are slipping. And what an eye for these things Cyndie has!

        Ian Rowcliffe

        March 9, 2015 at 4:04 pm


Leave a Reply

