Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Brooke Writes

with 12 comments

Guest Post
Today’s post is a contribution from my niece’s daughter, Brooke Friese, age 11. Brooke and her brother, Drew came with their mother for a visit last Friday. I was thrilled when she accepted my invitation to write a guest post about their day.

IMG_iP0762eI went to my great aunt Cindy and uncle John Hays’ Wintervale Ranch. It was one of the best days of the week!

They have a beautiful (and furry dog) named Delilah that loves to slobber all over frisbees when you throw it :). They also have an adorable cat named Pequenita; we also have two cats which are twins. Pequenita and my two cute cats are very alike. They are both small and they both are tortoiseshell cats, the only difference between them is my cats have more black and Pequenita has more brown.

Anyway back to Delilah and Pequenita (‘Nita for short), Delilah, being a dog, obviously wants to play, chase, sniff, and lick ‘Nita until she runs and hides meowing at Delilah all the way.

DSCN2963eWe also went on a walk through the beautiful (but very muddy) woods; we passed a fallen tree that Uncle John has nicknamed “The Brooke tree,” we walked down to the labyrinth, it was super cool!

I can’t wait to see it in the summer! My brother and I followed the winding trails to the middle and then back out again.

Then uncle John led us to the barn where we said hello to the horses. Legacy, (a beautiful snow white horse) acts as the boss of all the other horses (Hunter, Cayenne, and Dezirea) he pulls back his ears and jerks slightly towards the horse(s) that is bugging him.

DSCN2965e Dezirea acts as the mother, making sure everyone is fed before she eats, and makes sure everyone is using manners at all times, but she will never scold Legacy, after all he is the boss!

Then we headed over to the hay barn, I wasn’t expecting much, I mean it’s called “The Hay Barn,” there’s bound to be a few stacks of hay . . . oh no, when I walked into the hay barn I was surprised.

I saw tons and tons, two huge piles of hay both stacked in the form of stairs. My brother and I had fun climbing and exploring on the huge mounds of hay (with Uncle John’s permission).

DSCN2968eDSCN2970e.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

After my brother and I were exhausted from climbing on the two piles we walked over to Uncle John’s compost/molding horse manure piles, there were three piles of manure covered in thousands of flies. Along with the three piles was a still frozen compost pile that was now almost dirt, and wheel barrel full of more almost-dirt-compost, (My brother, Drew also pulled apart the poo with his bare hands so he could see what it looked like inside! Delilah also ate some manure! Ewwwwwwwwww!!!!!!!!!) Then Uncle John shifted the manure with a pitchfork, and the moldy compost started to steam! Uncle John measured the heat of the manure and it was around 130 degrees! Wow it was only around 50 degrees outside!

After that we headed inside, we played a hide and seek game with Delilah where we hide a ball and she had to go and sniff it out, it was awesome! My visit to Wintervale was super fun and exciting from Ellsworth’s cheese factory to Legacy’s bossiness. I can’t wait to come back! 🙂

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

March 23, 2015 at 6:00 am

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice going, Brooke – and three books in progress. Should you wish to come and write us a holiday report here in Portugal one day, we would be only too pleased not only to receive you but finance the trip. You see, writing can pay your way. Keep up the good work. Lots of hugs and kisses from your fans here.

    Ian Rowcliffe

    March 24, 2015 at 4:03 pm

    • Thank you so much:)

      ️Brooke Friese

      March 25, 2015 at 6:22 pm

  2. You’re a great writer, Brooke! Thanks for sharing your guest post. It sounds just like the Wintervale I know. I’m glad you had such an awesome day! 🙂

    Elysa

    March 24, 2015 at 12:42 am

    • It was great!

      ️Brooke Friese

      March 24, 2015 at 8:31 am

  3. Sounds like a wonderful Wintervale experience ~ well written Brooke 🙂 I look forward to our summertime visit!

    Judy

    March 23, 2015 at 11:07 am

  4. Loved this!!! Looks like a great visit and Brooke captured it very well with words–another writer in the family?! =)

    Liz

    March 23, 2015 at 7:38 am

    • I love to write! I’m currently writing 3 books!

      ️Brooke Friese

      March 23, 2015 at 6:03 pm

      • Good for you!! I mostly write for myself (journals) but I swear that is what got me through middle-and high school. =) Keep it up, it is an excellent skill to have and improve on!

        Liz

        March 23, 2015 at 8:52 pm

    • Isn’t this a treat! I’m so happy this worked out. Way to go, Brooke!

      johnwhays

      March 23, 2015 at 10:13 pm

      • Thank you, I loved coming!

        ️Brooke Friese

        March 24, 2015 at 8:32 am


Leave a Reply

