Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Trail Upgrade

with 2 comments

One of the best purchases I have made since we moved here is that wood chipper that runs off the PTO of the diesel tractor. Not only has it given us a way to get rid of the never-ending accumulations of tree branches, it is also providing a treasure trove of wood chips for landscape projects and trail maintenance.

I had a large pile of chips in the back pasture last fall that didn’t get distributed before it got buried in snow, and I have wanted to get it moved ever since it reappeared this spring. The recent rains have turned areas of our trail through the woods into swamp mud and we’re hoping a covering of wood chips will make it much less messy to cross, so that is providing additional motivation.

DSCN3512eYesterday, I landed a perfect combination of being home during the day, while it wasn’t raining, with time available, when the ATV was in working order. I made 3 trips from the pile to the wettest spot in the woods before switching to other more time-sensitive jobs.

Like mowing the grass. It has doubled in height in the 4 days since I last cut it. With rain predicted for today, I wanted to have that mowing completed in advance, to avoid it doubling another time before I could get to it.

There’s still half a pile of chips left, so I plan to return soon to covering the muddiest sections of trail with that, until it runs out. At that point, I will need to get out the trusty chipper again and make more piles of trail cover out of the multiple collections of branches that lie in wait.

It’s definitely a win-win situation!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

May 29, 2015 at 6:00 am

Posted in Chronicle

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I didn’t know there were wood chippers that could run off PTOs… I feel like a whole new world has been opened to me!

    Courtney

    May 29, 2015 at 7:34 am


Leave a Reply

