Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Sky Show

with 2 comments

Cyndie and Delilah were down in the paddock with the horses last night and the sun was getting close to our horizon. I finished what I was doing and headed out to find them. It didn’t surprise me to find the sky taking on a strange hue, because the night before, our sunset was quite a sight through the plume of smoke passing over us from Canadian forest fires. I figured it was happening again.

Then I saw a streak of lightning in the distance. There was a bit of a straight-line rain”bow” appearing on the far side of some rain clouds stretched to the ground by the precipitation in the distance. We stood among the horses and watched nature’s grandeur for a good half-hour.

I did my best to capture a panoramic view with my phone. In truth, you really had to be there to experience how impressive it was, but this will give you a rough idea. Imagine the rest if you can.

IMG_iP0819e.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

June 10, 2015 at 6:00 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes! I noticed the same thing as I left work last night! I was talking to Julian about it because it was such a beautiful night in Minneapolis. I can see (and imagine) it was even better at Wintervale! 🙂

    Elysa

    June 10, 2015 at 10:52 pm

    • I’m glad you saw it too! Yes, you can imagine the 360 degree view from out in the pasture…

      johnwhays

      June 12, 2015 at 8:44 am


Leave a Reply

