Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Unknown Future

with 4 comments

For the first Monday in a long time, I am back at the old day-job and Cyndie is at home. We are reversing roles again. I won’t be doing the laundry today, she will. I hope she hangs my dri-fit items to air-dry.

We need to shop for health coverage. We need to figure out a new financial plan, because I only bring in a fraction of what her salary was. We need to leap into this next chapter of our adventurous dream.

The horses are ready. Delilah is mostly ready. Pequenita doesn’t care one way or the other, as long as I continue to vigorously scratch her from head to toe each night. The property is well-able to support activity, and will always be in process of becoming more ready than it is.DSCN3612e

Yesterday, I finally got the last portion of our muddiest trail covered with wood chips. Now it is time to move on to the second muddiest spot, although that will require our making more chips, …unless we steal from the cache designated for use around the labyrinth. I suppose I could take from there and pay it back later.

I got started on trimming the growth around buildings and fences, but needed to take a break partway to allow for a brief thunder shower to pass overhead. I saw it coming and decided to forge ahead until I had used up a tank of gas. The timing turned out to be perfect, and I made it to shelter before getting wet.

I did pause briefly while trimming, to take a picture of the sky over the grazing horses. It didn’t cause them to alter their behavior one bit. They gladly continue munching grass, rain or shine.

I get the feeling they have no misgivings about what lies ahead for us. Ours is not an unknown future to them.

DSCN3610e.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

June 29, 2015 at 6:00 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful pictures. Love that you and Cyndie are following your dream and trusting things to work as they will. Best Wishes!! I think it will work out wonderfully well

    Cynthia

    June 29, 2015 at 8:53 am

    • Thank you for your support! It truly makes a difference and means a lot to me.

      johnwhays

      June 29, 2015 at 7:05 pm

  2. Yea!!!!! Let the adventure begin! Love it.

    Jane

    June 29, 2015 at 7:59 am

    • You’ll be on the invitation list when the first session(s) gets scheduled!

      johnwhays

      June 29, 2015 at 7:03 pm


Leave a Reply

