Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Meet Tedder

with 4 comments

It’s time to make hay again! I was a bit surprised to receive a message yesterday from our neighbor, George, indicating he was ready to cut hay, it being so soon after the heavy rain we received. Surprised, but thrilled. We are pretty much at his mercy when it comes to getting our field cut and baled; and truly blessed to have him offer his expertise.

George cut the field while I was at work, and then returned in the evening to chat about the plan for the next few days. He also brought over a new attachment he recently bought. Cyndie and I were introduced to the term “tedder,” as in, hay tedder. I quickly went from having never heard the term in my life, to pulling one around with our tractor.

From Wikipedia: A tedder (also called hay tedder) is a machine used in haymaking. It is used after cutting and before windrowing, and uses moving forks to aerate or “wuffle” the hay and thus speed up the process of hay-making. The use of a tedder allows the hay to dry (“cure”) better, which results in improved aroma and color.

Well, there. Now I also know of the word, “wuffle.” This suburban boy has just taken another step farther into the rural farm country.

We walked the field and discovered it was drying up nicely in just one afternoon. The Canadian smoke that was so thick on Monday was followed by breezy, dry air with plenty of sunshine on Tuesday. The dew point temperature felt somewhat fall-like even. That does wonders to speed along the curing of cut hay.

As we walked the field, George commented that it was already good enough to be tossed by the tedder. That was my cue. There was enough light left in the day that I could take on that task. I volunteered, hoping to relieve him of some of the burden he so graciously shoulders to see that we get our hay baled.

DSC04824eCHGeorge provided an accelerated lesson on the tedder itself, and then the process of using it, before sending me on my way to learn by trying. Cyndie brought him a beverage and the two of them stood by the gate and supervised my maiden voyage.

The tedder is a very forgiving attachment which allowed me to play around with my method of navigating our irregularly shaped field. Cyndie became official photographer, once again capturing the momentous occasion of another of my tractor event milestones.

It feels almost natural to me, being behind that wheel, but I tell you, never in my dreams did I picture myself in a field, on a tractor seat, and knowing anything whatsoever about a “tedder” or making hay.

Life is an adventure!

DSC04829eCH.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

July 8, 2015 at 6:00 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love watching your ever-changing life learning!!! Continue to enjoy these opportunities!

    Mary

    July 9, 2015 at 7:31 am

    • I will. Now that I have returned to the day-job, these opportunities take on a whole new level of precious.

      johnwhays

      July 9, 2015 at 9:07 pm

  2. You look like a natural 😊

    Sara

    July 8, 2015 at 8:14 am


Leave a Reply

