Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Baling Hay

with 2 comments

It was an epic day focused on hay yesterday, and the weather was ideal. We probably could have cut one day out of the process, but some of the bales might have bordered on still having too much moisture in them, so waiting allowed me to work the day-job on Thursday and then pack the bulk of the work of baling in about 12-hours of effort yesterday.

I started the work in the morning using George’s rake behind our tractor to create the windrows. My skills, and thus, confidence, were much higher than last year, but I still haven’t figured out the ideal pattern for our irregularly shaped field. DSCN3642eIt took me until half way through the job to discover I was making it harder on myself by dragging the rake along the previous windrow. If my steering is off the tiniest bit, the rake will catch the row I just created and mess it up.

If I simply rake from the other direction, I am raking the untouched grass with a clean space between me and the previous row. That provides much more room for normal variations. Duh!

While waiting for George to arrive with the baler, I hustled to move the remaining bales from last year that were stored on the right side of the hay shed, in order to make room for the new bales we were about to create. Hustling to exert yourself is not really well-advised when you have a long day of effort ahead on a hot summer day. I think I threw myself out of balance, probably getting too hot while also still trying to figure out a reduced-sugar diet. Getting the right sugar balance is proving to be a challenge for me.

When George arrived, he mentioned that he had forgotten to grease the baler, so I volunteered to hoof it back to my garage to get my grease gun. After that long, hurried walk, while chatting and watching him hit the multitude of grease fittings, I felt myself growing sicker and sicker. DSCN3646eI got light-headed and nauseous. It took almost too much effort to walk all the way back to the house after he started baling, where I could cool off and taking in some sugar and fluids —which was a challenge since I was also fending off the nausea.

I never really felt fully back on top of my game, but recovered enough to function and returned to help with the hardest part of all: tossing bales. Cyndie stepped up heroically and moved more heavy bales than I could believe, heaving them around to unload the wagon while I stacked them in the shed.

We weren’t able to unload fast enough to get the wagon back out to George by the time he could have used it, so he just let the last bunch of bales lay on the ground and we drove out to pick them up at the end. I haven’t counted yet, as we finished after dark last night, but I think we got another high yield off our little plot.

DSC04843eCHDSC04845eCH.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

George graciously returned after needing to rush home to feed his animals, and helped us stack bales in our shed to get them off the wagons. Cyndie served up dinner for us all around 10:00 p.m. and we got a chance to celebrate the huge effort of summer: putting up hay that will feed our horses all winter.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

July 11, 2015 at 8:46 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations on a big job, well done! Have you ever heard of EMERGEN-C? Its sold over the counter in drug stores and some grocery stores. It has no sugar but provides electrolytes and may help with the dizzy, light headed nausea thing. It comes in packets that you add to water. Cyndie is a good healer..all that after a hip replacement not so very long ago! So glad

    Cynthia

    July 11, 2015 at 3:55 pm

    • Thank you, Cynthia! I have heard of EMERGEN-C. That is something I should keep on hand.
      Cyndie has healed well, and though she still has some limitations, she continues to gain strength to do more and more.

      johnwhays

      July 11, 2015 at 5:43 pm


Leave a Reply

