Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Craving Again

with 2 comments

It has been about two months since I watched the movie, “Fed Up,” and decided to do something about the amount of sugar I was ingesting every day. I decided to work on reducing the sugar I was consuming by focusing on nutrition labels and paying attention to serving size and the amount of sugar in each serving. By simply doing that for a little over a week, I noticed a physical reaction and experienced some surprisingly intense withdrawal symptoms.

I think the dramatic physical response helped to bolster my motivation to stay vigilant about seeing this through to a point of achieving a lasting break in the pattern of consuming an unhealthy amount of sugar.

It isn’t easy.

Just when I was beginning to feel as though I was satisfied with the new routine I have established, I discovered a significant resurgence of cravings.

It’s not the first time I’ve been through this. Several times in the past, I have made attempts at not eating sweets. One thing that always happened was a robust urge to eat breads. Even though I recognized that I was exchanging sugar for more complex carbohydrates, I didn’t tend to restrict that urge. I figured the struggle to avoid sugar was hard enough. I didn’t want to take on two things at once.

Well, it wasn’t two things, really. It’s all part of the same issue I’m facing. My blood tests repeatedly revealed my glucose levels to be pre-diabetic. This time, I am working on a more thorough, and a more informed, change in diet. After only a few weeks, I began to notice a reduction in body fat.

I suppose it didn’t hurt that I went on a bicycling trip for a week, and then sweated through the process of putting up over 250 bales of hay.

I also noticed an increasing level of satisfaction from my reduced portion sizes. By regularly making healthy, low-sugar choices, I was discovering a new appreciation for not-so-sweet alternatives. It was refreshing and felt very rewarding. It gave me hope for the possibility of my satisfaction being met by a healthy, balanced menu.

But it wasn’t a cut and dried sure thing. There is a bit of a gray area. There are high and low tides. My diet isn’t rock solid, by any means, and the sweetness I am getting swings above and below the optimum. More than once I have caught myself feeling precariously hypoglycemic.

Then there are the days when the cravings rise up. They can be insidious and particularly tenacious. If I ignore them, they don’t generally go away. I need to work the program. I allow myself some modest treats. There is a slippery slope there, though, and I am cognizant of past experiences where I have succumbed and chose to give up altogether.

I feel like the difference for me this time is that I am better informed. Between my new understanding and the experience I’ve gained in the past, I believe I have the tools and inspiration to endure my cravings and thrive on a healthy diet for much longer than ever before. I hope it’s for the rest of my life.

I need to keep thinking big picture. What I ultimately crave, after all, is optimal health!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

July 27, 2015 at 6:00 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like you’ve made some real headway there! I think everybody struggles somewhere to maintain balance, do you? For me anyway, there’s lots of areas that seem to be a never- ending work in progress, lol. Human condition, maybe. In any case… Congratulations and good luck with this! I’m glad you’re feeling the benefits!

    Cynthia

    July 27, 2015 at 8:04 am

    • Thank you. Cynthia! Human condition, indeed. If I didn’t have this issue to deal with, I would surely find another…

      johnwhays

      July 27, 2015 at 8:20 am


Leave a Reply

