Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Snake Aversion

with 2 comments

Why did it have to be snakes? All I wanted to do was pick a few rocks. One of the first that I lifted uncovered a young garter snake, causing a typical startle, despite my awareness of the likelihood of the possibility. The stone garden on the side of our house where we have a fire pit, happens to be the spot where snakes are known to reside.

DSCN3918eI am not a fan.

The next rock I moved revealed the ghost of a snake, skin that had been outgrown, which conjures an image which has the potential of being even more shudder-worthy than the real thing. There is a snake larger than this lurking somewhere nearby. The power of the mind makes this more ominous than an actual snake.

All this anxiety-inducing effort I was engaged in was for a good purpose, of course. I worked yesterday to replace the plastic grates on the path out the back door of the barn, with stones.

Upon simply placing the first few stones, it became so obvious this was a better solution, both functionally and aesthetically, that I marvel over why we didn’t do it at first.

DSCN3919eDSCN3920e.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Some improvements take a couple tries before we get them right.

In a way, I think this path will mean more to me now, after having first tried something that didn’t work out as well as I imagined it might. It will certainly be worth the repeated scares I endured while hunting for the perfect stepping-stones from the snake-infested quarry beyond our deck.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

September 12, 2015 at 9:45 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Snakes, (non poisonous) dont bother me but I have that shuddery revulsion to rodents. Mice, ugh. I can’t even think about rats…horrifying.

    Cynthia

    September 12, 2015 at 10:12 am

    • Funny, how people differ on what we find bothersome in a shuddery way.

      johnwhays

      September 12, 2015 at 10:51 pm


Leave a Reply

