Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

She’s Home!

with 4 comments

My fellow blog readers, the week-long nightmare of my whining about Cyndie being gone is over. May life return to the usual chaos that masquerades as normal around here. May Delilah go back to having two people from whom she can constantly demand attention.

There were a couple of moments last week when I began to question whether I truly have what it takes to be a responsible dog owner and caretaker. Delilah pushes me to my limits, and I haven’t put in the effort required to command the obedience from her that would allow me to relax and enjoy her company.

I am really happy to have Cyndie back to resume her role as primary dog handler. I’m a little sheepish about all the burrs that were waiting to greet Momma on her return, but in my defense, I had them all brushed out earlier in the day, yesterday.

DSCN3978eThere is a confused racoon that I have to thank for the burrs. At least now I know what Delilah was so obsessed with when I took her outside Sunday night for a failed attempt at one last pee before confining her to her Crate-bed-den for the evening.

She went nuts the second we got out the door and pulled like her life depended on it to go after something that was completely invisible to me, given the short distance my head lamp projected.

Delilah was so freaky about this that it scared me a little bit. I didn’t know what was going on. In the morning on Monday, we headed out for the sunrise walk around the property and had only taken a few steps when Delilah cornered a surprised racoon behind our backup generator.

DSCN3975eAt the sound of all the snarling and growling, I gave her leash a yank and that was all the racoon needed to sprint for the nearest tree. The weeds at the base of that tree are where Delilah picked up her first batch of burrs before I could convince her she was at a stalemate with the critter and resume a walk with me.

Fast forward to late afternoon, after I finished a battery of property management tasks during which I had let Delilah nap in her kennel outside, I headed over with tennis balls to fling so she could get a little exercise before going inside for dinner. During exercise time, I usually get away with letting her run off-leash, because she is so fixated on the toys we throw that she stays engaged.

Not this time. She completely ignored the second ball I threw and ran past it in a sprint with a mission. In a blink, she was gone. It made no sense. I circled the house, calling and whistling, wondering where on earth she went with such intense purpose. Then I heard her bark. That is not usual behavior when she runs away on us. Next, I spotted the horses running away in the pasture.

Was she chasing our horses? What’s gotten into her, I wondered. I arrived to find the answer. It was that dang racoon, again. Twice in one day, during daylight hours? I’m concerned that something might not be right with that critter. Especially that it would hang around when it is obvious there is a threatening dog that lives here.

They ended up with another stalemate when the racoon made it up a tree again.

Cyndie kept Delilah on a short leash for her evening walk last night, and experienced no further excitement, so maybe the racoon got the message that it should seek refuge somewhere else.

Today, I return to my routine at the day-job, and get to do so without fretting about how Delilah is doing at home all alone while I’m gone. It’s so nice to have Cyndie back.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

September 22, 2015 at 6:00 am

Posted in Chronicle

Tagged with , , , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “…the usual chaos that masquerades as normal…”

    I love this description, and can relate to it entirely!

    Liz

    September 23, 2015 at 6:44 am

    • Thanks. Chaos as normal is the kind of thing that one adjusts to over time, in the same way a frog adjusts to water as it is heated.

      johnwhays

      September 24, 2015 at 9:40 am

      • Not so sure frogs adjust to the water….dumped a couple invaders out of my hot tub this summer….
        Maybe they didn’t wade in gradually tho?

        Mary

        September 24, 2015 at 11:08 am

      • Yeah, the way the science works is, the change happens slow, and then they don’t notice. If you just put them in hot water (or suddenly expose someone to an unfamiliar-ly high level of chaos) the reaction is big, and the frog would not hang around. 🙂

        johnwhays

        September 24, 2015 at 11:22 am


Leave a Reply

