Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Quick Work

with 2 comments

When you only have a limited amount of daylight in which to get your work done, you find a way to work quickly.

After seeing how nice the front yard looked after I mowed it to a close cut on Sunday, I desperately wanted to have the same result in the back. With the beautiful weather blessing us for another day, I made a point of rushing home from work and changing into grubby clothes.

There wasn’t much that needed to be done in preparation, so in no time I was on the back hill mowing all the leaves that had fallen. I made one pass around the perimeter and stopped to take a picture, hoping to get a “before” and “after” combination.

IMG_iP0959eThat image was lit with sunshine that would last barely another hour. Unsure whether I would have enough light to get an “after” shot, I picked the angle for this view and got down to business.

Since I was cutting very short, areas where the moles have wreaked havoc became much more glaring than when I leave it longer, but taken as a whole, the turf landscape looked rather noble by the time I was through.

IMG_iP0960eBefore snapping the second shot, I snuck a peek at the first image, because I’d already forgotten where I had stood to take it. For as little effort as I put toward aligning them precisely, I am tickled to have ended up with a shot that almost perfectly matched the earlier view.

The only thing missing was the sunshine, which was below the horizon by that point.

The hill is ready for becoming a sled run, in the off-chance we end up getting enough snow for that this winter, what with the “Godzilla-of-all-El-Niños” forecast to be moderating our temperatures in the months ahead.

If our current spell of good weather fortune is any indicator, we could be in for a short ski and igloo season this year.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

November 10, 2015 at 7:00 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Re:the turf landscape looked rather noble by the time I was through – it certainly did!

    Ian Rowcliffe

    November 10, 2015 at 8:09 am


Leave a Reply

