Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Past Views

with 3 comments

On Sunday, we are hosting a neighborhood gathering for a cookie social. I was thinking ahead about a way I might match the people we hope will come, with the locations of their homes. I looked at property records online for an overhead view with the house numbers shown. I was considering the possibility of printing it out and having people sign in and mark their location on the map.

Unfortunately, that view, sized for a normal printer, ended up being too small to be much good. I may simply resort to having my computer there with the view that can be zoomed in and out. People could point at their homes on the screen.

While I was looking at the county map, I realized that it is a little different than the Google Earth view with which I am more familiar. I’m pretty sure the county image is older. It occurred to me that I should capture and save both for a historical reference.

N6667CountyViewAbove is the view from the county property records site. Below is the view from Google Earth. It hasn’t changed since we started looking at it in 2012.

N6667GoogleViewI did a search to see if I could learn how often the Google view gets updated. They claim to do so about every 3 years. We are due. I don’t know if that means they will soon post a current view, or that soon they will update it with a view from some time in the recent past.

It won’t be too hard for me to identify if a new view is from a time after we took possession, since we made a wide variety of frequent changes over the last 3 years. I’m particularly interested to see what the labyrinth looks like from space.

I’m also hoping it will be from a time when the horses were out in one of the fields. It would be really nice if that worked out.

15909CedarAs long as I was at it, I ventured over to a view of the old neighborhood in Eden Prairie where my family lived when I was a tween/teenager. I’ll post it here for my brothers and sisters to see. It is recognizable, despite a few changes. The road at the end of our driveway was a 2-lane back in the day, and crossing it led to a farm field, not another neighborhood.

I wonder if there are any photos of this view from back in the 1970s, maybe taken from one of the small planes out of Flying Cloud Airport.

That’s a past view I would particularly appreciate seeing.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

December 19, 2015 at 7:00 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The collection of cars in the old driveway were the first thing I noticed!

    Judy

    December 19, 2015 at 10:08 am

  2. Very cool! For some reason I’m surprised to see it isn’t a paved driveway.

    Marebare

    December 19, 2015 at 7:33 am

    • Yes, and did you notice they have about as many vehicles in the driveway as we often did?

      johnwhays

      December 19, 2015 at 9:08 am


Leave a Reply

