Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Above Zero

with 2 comments

I am intrigued by how noticeable a relief it is when our temperature climbs back above zero (F) after an extreme cold snap. There’s an almost magical difference in how it feels. After a full day indoors at work yesterday, I stepped out the door and was immediately aware of the softer feel in the air.

It doesn’t necessarily come across as being warm, but there is a definite lack of it feeling mercilessly, brutally cold.

I don’t know if any of this has anything to do with the headlights in my car burning out, but it seems to me that I always find myself changing a bulb when it is uncomfortably cold for my hands to do so. Even though it is above zero, it is still cold for a hand to be navigating down through limited space of dirty metal and plastic, and then awkwardly trying to press a release tab to wrestle a reluctant connector out of a socket.

It’s worth it to me though, because I really don’t like having only one working headlight. I noticed the reflection of my padiddle in the tailgate of a truck while approaching a stoplight. I was headed to get gas on my way home yesterday, and the station is located very close to an auto parts store.

How convenient.

I successfully replaced the bulb within an hour of discovering the need, despite the not-below-zero-but-still-hard-on-the-hands cold temperature. I’m pretty sure that was a personal best time interval for me.DSCN4375e

Cyndie leaves for Florida today, but before she goes, her plan is to take the blankets off the horses. I’m a big advocate of letting them adjust au naturel, and the weekend may bring a warm up that gets us above freezing, so it seems like a chance to give them a break from the straight jackets.

I think they will be happy with that. But that’s coming from a guy who prefers to sleep naked, so my opinion is probably biased.

As long as we anthropomorphize how cold they must feel, it would stand to reason to assume they grow weary of the constricting confines of the blankets, as well.

I’m going to assume they have the same reaction as I do, to the incredible difference in how the winter air feels after a cold spell breaks.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

January 20, 2016 at 7:00 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anthro.. … .. what? Laymens terms please

    drhays

    January 20, 2016 at 9:09 am

    • Ha! You know, treat ’em like they are people, and if we get cold, they must be cold, too!
      But you didn’t have an exception to the padiddle term?

      johnwhays

      January 20, 2016 at 9:23 am


Leave a Reply

