Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Nothing But

with 4 comments

DSCN4393eWe had nothing but weather around here yesterday. Moments of sunshine, plenty of degrees, and a brief passing rain shower in the afternoon. It was shirt-sleeve time in the morning for cleaning the barn. The warm temps also provided an opportunity to give the waterer a thorough cleaning, which was badly needed.

It was so cold the last time I tried to clean the waterer, the cover was frozen on solid. That time, I did a cursory scrubbing to break loose the green growth that develops on underwater surfaces, but I couldn’t drain it because I couldn’t get that cover off. I tried splashing debris out, but that offered limited results.

Yesterday, while I was cleaning stalls in the barn, Delilah was reacting to the sound of gunshots in the distance and a neighbor’s barking dog, with a cacophony of her own barking in reply. I decided to take a shot at capturing video of her disturbing the peace.

It took a few tries, but eventually, I caught her. She tends to stop when she notices I am up to something that involves a camera. Honestly, I think it makes her feel guilty, and she worries what others will think if her reckless barking was revealed to the world.

If you are brave enough to endure the video below, I will warn you to prepare for some dizzying panning, and a varied level of audio. I haven’t quite mastered the art of using a cell phone to record moving pictures, and I must have been covering the microphone off and on while struggling for a grip that would support the device.

Judy, this is for you. Your request for more video of Wintervale contributed to my decision to give it a go. Thanks for the nudge.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

January 31, 2016 at 7:00 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “Has Timmy fallen down the well?” LOL!

    Liz

    February 1, 2016 at 10:51 am

    • She is the dog who cries “Wolf!” Or, I should probably say, “Squirrel!!” Poor girl doesn’t seem to understand why I don’t respond to her repeated alarms.

      johnwhays

      February 1, 2016 at 10:55 am

  2. Excellent video! Just exactly what I was looking for, sitting here with my morning coffee I really enjoyed my visit with you, Delilah and the horses ~ Beautiful Wintervale 😍

    Judy

    January 31, 2016 at 9:54 am


Leave a Reply

