Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Ash Wash

with 2 comments

One day when Elysa was hanging out with us, I wondered out loud if there was any use for all the ash from a fireplace. She suggested we Google it.DSCN4451e

Turns out, yes, there is. Or more accurately, there are.

Two that I clearly remember: An additive to soil for growing tomatoes, and as a cleanser for washing smoky glass fireplace doors.

Smoky doors, we got. This solution is so plain and simple that I don’t understand why it isn’t more widely known. There is no reason to use some manufactured chemical when such a natural resource is so handy and works so amazingly well.

How about a demonstration? I don’t mind if I do.

All I need is water, some newspaper, and ashes to quickly clean the doors for a crystal clear view of the main attraction of our winter nights. I wish all projects were as easy and rewarding as this.

In case it isn’t inherently obvious, this chore should be done before you start a fire, when the ashes and doors are absent of any heat from a fire.

DSCN4465e.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

February 19, 2016 at 7:00 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, I never! How counter-intuitive is that! That said your glass didn’t look half as dirty as ours, but I will try it when I get a chance – our wood stove is under constant use these days.

    Ian Rowcliffe

    February 21, 2016 at 11:02 am

    • With heavily coated glass, you may need to give it a bit more elbow grease, but I think you will be amazed how effective the ash is as a safe cleanser. I look forward to hearing word of your results!

      johnwhays

      February 21, 2016 at 3:24 pm


Leave a Reply

