Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Photographic Decay

leave a comment »

Something about the puzzle-like visual of decaying wood and metal really grabbed my attention last weekend when we were snowshoeing in the woods and came upon the trash dumps. So, naturally, I took a picture of it. I’ve noticed since, the photo has captured that same allure for me. I can’t stop looking at it.

I think that says a lot about the success of a photograph. If you find yourself wanting to look at it again and again, you must have done something right.

DSCN4492eI can’t really grasp what it is that draws me to it. Maybe that is a part of the attraction, …the mystery of it.

Admittedly, the curious cutouts are attention grabbers, but I think the shadow plays a big part for me, maybe just as much. Throw in the clean-looking snow, the spindly branch above, and the bark-like appearance of the disintegrating wood, and you get a combination of features that keep my eyes coming back for more.

There is a juxtaposition that I like in the discarded item having been left for decay, now transformed to a new use as the primary feature of a photographic image.

Everything old is new again.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

March 4, 2016 at 7:00 am

Leave a Reply

