Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Too Common

leave a comment »

This time of year we start to see the bountiful harvest of flies blooming around our manure factory, and it triggered our first order of the year from our online source for fly control supplies. I provided the card number for our Wintervale account that I used last year and the order was entered.

A week later I received an email and phone calls indicating that my card number wasn’t working. After checking that they had all the correct information, we decided the problem may be with our bank.

Last night I called our bank and learned my card had been placed on alarm status for possible fraud activity. The representative for my bank spoke so matter of factly about the situation that it occurred to me, this was normal activity from her perspective.

I was aghast! What!? When!?

Since I have been back at work for almost a year, I haven’t had much need to use the Wintervale account. I had been unaware of the unauthorized attempts to make expensive purchases in San Francisco in January. When the culprit wasn’t able to produce the correct code from the back of the card after multiple attempts, my bank was alert enough to suspend the card.

I’m not quite sure why they didn’t see a need to contact me about the situation.

Several more attempts were made at different locations for lesser amounts, continuing into February, all failures.

The only way I found out about it was that I finally attempted to use the card myself, and had to call to find out why it didn’t work anymore.

I guess credit card fraud is so common, the banks don’t even get riled up about it anymore. At least they are swift about disallowing questionable requests.

Maybe, since they don’t bother letting the card holder know about the situation, I should call them every month to ask if anyone other than me has tried to use my card. Especially if fraud is so common it is expected.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

March 15, 2016 at 6:00 am

Leave a Reply

