Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Garden Progress

with 2 comments

Cyndie’s new garden is progressing nicely. We received a wonderfully timed rain shower last night, after giving the plants a final serving of composted manure fertilizer. With the robust effort Cyndie put in to protect the new plantings from marauding animals, the garden should now have everything necessary to thrive.

IMG_iP1334e

After my last wheelbarrow load had been delivered to her, I headed into the paddock to do a little clean up in the narrow end closest to the garden. In no time, Legacy arrived to closely supervise. He always wants to nibble on the wooden handles of the wheelbarrow, which I strictly forbid.

IMG_iP3203eCHI repeatedly adjust the position so the handles point to where I am standing, meaning he would have to go through me to get to them. If I wander at all, he will step in for a bite. After he figured out I wasn’t going to let that happen, he turned his attention to Cyndie in the garden, on the other side of the driveway.

As I worked, the other three horses arrived to share in the excitement. Cayenne stood so close to me that we almost bumped noses a couple of times. I called over to Cyndie to show off my crew, hanging with me while I toiled away.

I didn’t know she was taking pictures until we got inside and she shared them.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

April 21, 2016 at 6:00 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love the rocks around the garden! Lucky you- you were able to start so early! At least a week or two more of indoor seedlings for us until the risk of a spring frost has abated here in the northeast.

    milkymender

    April 21, 2016 at 7:39 am

    • I blame climate change on our “luck.” Although, I warned Cyndie to keep in mind we received 18″ of snow on May 2nd a couple years ago. We need to keep vigilant for possible cold nights when we might want to cover her garden, just in case…

      johnwhays

      April 21, 2016 at 8:12 am


Leave a Reply

