Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

No Fish

with 2 comments

One of the things that seems so sad about the failure of our 3rd transplanted maple tree in the labyrinth is how many hundreds of volunteer maples are sprouting in unwanted locations around our house and yard. A less stubborn (and probably smarter) person would likely make the obvious choice of moving one of these hearty little yearlings to the center of the garden, but not me.

I have been bound and determined to get a head start on a future giant center piece for our labyrinth by planting a tree taller than me with an already good-looking crown of leaves. When Cyndie suggested buying a tree with an established root-ball, I countered that I preferred one from our property, and each time my attempt fails, I am going to pick an even taller one next, to make up for lost progress.

If necessary, in a few years I will hire a truck with a giant conical tree spade to dig up a 10-year-old beauty, I’ll dismantle rock paths to make room for it to back into the center of the garden, and they can plop down a transplant that won’t dare fail.

I’m finding that it might be easier to replace rocks for the labyrinth path than get a tree to survive being transplanted to the middle.

A few days ago, a person who shall remain nameless, to protect their anonymity, dropped off a small fish for our landscape pond. Cyndie learned about it after dark, and went out with a flashlight to check. Yep, she confirmed, there was a fish swimming in our pond.

That’s the last time the fish was seen. I wouldn’t have been surprised to learn it didn’t adjust to the move, if we had found it floating days later. I never suspected it wouldn’t survive the first night and would disappear without a trace. Did a predator —probably raccoon— really find and dispatch it that swiftly?

IMG_iP1366eMaybe it is just hiding really well, like the hidden growth of roots on the transplanted tree. Maybe the tree isn’t actually dead. It might just be taking a year off to develop roots, instead of sprouting leaves.

On Monday, I went to see a home game of the MLB Twins at Target Field with Rich, Jill, and Bob. It’s not a good sign that my only photo taken that night was of the giant display screen blazing the weather radar as the PA voice announced the game was being postponed.

I’m experiencing a trend. No tree, no fish, no baseball.

One of these tomorrows, I sure hope that sun comes out, and soon!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

May 11, 2016 at 6:00 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Check the inlet of your pump for the fish, sorry it won’t be shops result if it’s there. My second thought is a raccoon.

    acyclist13

    May 11, 2016 at 11:38 am

    • Luckily, it wouldn’t fit past the filter media over the inlet! Somebody had a sushi snack I think.

      johnwhays

      May 11, 2016 at 11:46 am


Leave a Reply

