Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Four Horses

leave a comment »

With Cyndie home full-time this year and me working 4-days a week, I spend dramatically less time with the horses than I did last year. On Thursday, Cyndie asked me to feed the horses when I got home from work, because she wasn’t going to be home, and I found myself lingering with them afterward.

.DSCN4730e

.

The young ones, Cayenne and Hunter, cooperated in some mutual grooming.

.

.

.

.

DSCN4738e.

.

Legacy was test tasting a sample of the new hay Cyndie had brought home.

.

.

.

.

DSCN4736e.

.

Dezirea appeared to be standing watch. She is a very good lookout.

.

.

.

.

Yesterday, while I was working on distributing piles of compost to trees around the property, I looked up and spotted Dezirea laying down in the pasture. It was late in the afternoon, about the time they would be coming up to the barn for their evening feed, and it alarmed me to see her down at that hour of the day.

I hustled that direction and hollered to Cyndie, who had walked past the horses minutes earlier. I was curious how long Dezirea had been down. At the same time that I got Cyndie’s attention across the field, our hollering rousted Dezirea from her brief slumber. She stood up right away and quickly rendered my query to Cyndie, moot, although I still learned she hadn’t been down when Cyndie walked by earlier.

So, that was a really short nap.

Sorry, Dez, for so loudly disrupting your rest.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

May 15, 2016 at 6:00 am

Leave a Reply

