Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Rest Day

with 5 comments

Sunday was certainly a day of rest for me yesterday, after having ridden so many miles on Saturday. I took a most luscious nap in the middle of the day. My eyes just didn’t want to be open, so I gave them some rest. The rest of me followed suit.

After my nap, I revved up to do the tiniest of chores. I was able to mow the overgrown trails in the woods, because it has dried up lately just enough I was able to drive on it without getting stuck. I wound new line on the spool for the trimmer in the cool shade of the shop. I stood with the horses while Cyndie tended a scrape on Legacy’s front leg.

I also ate a few extra calories, to make sure my body had more than enough to regenerate itself. Visions of the week of biking that lies ahead next month.

Will I be ready? I think I already am, despite having been on my bike only twice so far this season. Must be all that pitch fork work and hill walking I do around Wintervale that has allowed me to stay fit.

Rich Gordon snapped a photo of this athlete in action…

IMG_iP1377eRG

I wasn’t hurting too much yet!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

May 23, 2016 at 6:00 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looking good!!! Now I have to find out where you will be biking for a week! Good to see you 🙂 Thanks for always supporting me ❤

    lorriebowden

    May 23, 2016 at 9:50 am

    • Lorrie, you are a treat! Thank you.
      This year the week of biking and camping will be in the lovely forests around the headwaters of the mighty Mississippi River. Think Paul Bunyan, Babe, his blue ox, and the ferocious Minnesota mosquitos! 🙂

      johnwhays

      May 23, 2016 at 5:00 pm

      • Ah! An adventure for not the light hearted!! 😉 Blessitude my friend! Hope you will write and share the ride 😉

        lorriebowden

        May 23, 2016 at 6:06 pm

      • I will! It’s an annual tradition for me.

        johnwhays

        May 23, 2016 at 7:48 pm

      • Just reminded me of a Hank William’s Jr. song…”It’s a family tradition!” 😉

        lorriebowden

        May 23, 2016 at 9:32 pm


Leave a Reply

