Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Storm Results

leave a comment »

I haven’t covered the entirety of our trails yet, but in a partial survey near the house and barn yesterday, I found more trees fell victim to the storm winds than Cyndie noticed on her morning walk with Delilah.

IMG_iP1457eThe first thing that caught my attention was a significant branch lying beside the trunk of the large poplar tree near the shop garage. I asked Cyndie if she had moved it there, but she said she hadn’t even noticed it.

Apparently, that is where it landed when it snapped off the very top of the tree. Pretty good placement.

I’d liked to have seen how that worked.

The next thing I found was on the way to the barn. Several dead trees that I should have cut down already had snapped off or simply leaned over into the branches of trees around them. They are now labeled as “widow makers,” a term loggers use to describe, among other things, felled trees that get hung up in the limbs of other trees.

I will probably resort to trying to pull them down with the tractor. I’m not interested in trying to chainsaw a tree that is under tension such as these are.IMG_iP1461e

Beyond that, the most visible evidence of Saturday night’s drama is the amazing number of leaves, sticks and small branches that litter all surfaces that were downwind of the trees.

Upwind, you can’t see any disturbance whatsoever.

We had our bedroom window open when the ruckus happened and I awoke to the forceful sound of the wind. I was prepared to hear a snapping sound at any minute, but never detected one.

It was intense enough to cause me to pull up the radar image on my computer to see if it was just the beginning of something that might get worse, or whether there were any storm warnings for our specific location. We were actually under one of the less intense looking areas, north of the most significant portion of the storm system.IMG_iP1459e

I elected to go back to sleep and let the storm pass without further worry, but not without noting the sound of those gusts.

I’m hoping to combine the intensity I heard with the visual evidence collected of the aftermath to use it as reference for risk assessment in the future.

This won’t be the last time a high-wind storm pays us a visit, that’s for sure.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

July 18, 2016 at 6:00 am

Leave a Reply

