Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Not New

leave a comment »

DSCN4545eNot anymore. My car is no longer a new car. Not only have I put over 10,000 miles on it, I now have a couple of bumps added to the mix.

Between my typical end of day fatigue and some mischievous force that took over my garage yesterday, I found myself ensconced in a comedy of errors, with my car as the hapless victim.

I usually back into my garage space so that my driver side door is on the less cluttered center aisle. I don’t exclusively rely on the view from the backup camera, but switch back and forth from that to the mirrors. That camera may have helped me to spot the small metal trash can that was lurking a little too far out from the side.

I heard it before I saw it. Something out of sight was indicating there was a problem. I pulled ahead and adjusted my angle.

Upon inspection, I was shocked to see how significantly that brief contact had pushed the bumper inward on that corner. I shuffled off to find a tool that would help me push it back out again. Thank goodness for the high tech materials used for car bumpers.

With that issue resolved as much as I was able, I turned my attention to the can that was sticking out. I pushed it with my foot to move it as far over as space allowed. There was a Rubbermaid storage rack filled with a vast array of yard tools stationed in the same spot. A metal scoop shovel was sticking out at an odd angle.

I picked it up and reoriented it in the stand. Before I could even turn around to walk away, it seemed to jump out of the friction latch, flipping to smack the handle into the side of my car.

You only notice the ding in the metal if the light catches it right to reveal the imperfection.

Adding one last poke at my sanity, I spotted the light overhead on the opener was glowing brightly throughout all this, regardless it being broad daylight outside. Too bad it hasn’t worked like that for the last two weeks during the mornings when it has been too dark to see at the time I leave for work.

I think our garage may have picked up some gremlins recently.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

August 16, 2016 at 6:00 am

Leave a Reply

