Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Adding Siding

with 2 comments

Record warmth yesterday, and we spent almost all of it chipping away at the somewhat tedious task of siding the chicken coop with salvaged lumber. It feels a little like I’ve made this project more complicated than it deserves, but I justify it in my mind as a good exercise in teaching myself carpentry skills.

I’ve never tried to make cabinets and had no clue about mounting a hinged door. We started small and did the narrow opening for accessing the poop board. It turned out a little too tight, but filing edges has been enough to make it work.dscn5427e

Next, we hung the three-hinge people door. I’m still unsure of the essential details that need to be considered, but somehow I seem to have faked my way through it and ended up with a door the appears to work perfectly.

Working in the hot sun was almost too uncomfortable, but since it is November, it seemed a little inconsiderate to frame that hardship as a complaint.

The warming of our planet does come with some short-term perks in the interim before whatever large-scale calamity will eventually doom civilization as we know it.

dscn5429eUsing the boards we salvaged from pallets, we are now slowly but surely working our way up the walls with a piecemeal patchwork of siding. It is creative fun for a while, and then gets a little too tricky around openings and edges that require excessive amounts of measuring and cutting to fit.

Whose idea was it to make this thing so complicated, anyway?

Good things come to those who wait, and with that, I expect to be happy with this mansion of a chicken coop when it is finally completed.

More importantly, it is my hope that some chickens will be very, very happy with it, too.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

November 6, 2016 at 8:24 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It will look so beautiful when you are done!! I love the siding. I hope it finishes out smoothly for you–seems you have the weather on your side, anyway!

    Liz

    November 6, 2016 at 9:45 am

    • Thank you! I’m pretty pleased for how close it is turning out to the way I envisioned it. 🙂

      johnwhays

      November 6, 2016 at 2:15 pm


Leave a Reply

