Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Recovering Slowly

with 4 comments

It’s a process. I’m still sad about the embarrassing outcome of our election, but some of the shock and traumatic stress is wearing off. The commodity of a good night’s sleep, which I hold dear, is possible again after several disturbing bouts of disruption. It is a mental illness I know all too well that leaves me wide awake at oh-dark-thirty with unhelpful thoughts running rampant.

I know depression. The events that played out to even allow the President-elect to be a choice in the end was depressing enough, but for the voting results to prove there are that many people in this country who would accept his rhetoric as deserving nearly sent me back to my darkest place.

How can I live with that? I live among them. How do I deal with this disturbing reality?

Love.

It’s all I can do. I know how I recovered from my life of depression. I will work my program. I will send love in every direction. I will strive to love the men and women who believe things with which I disagree. I will find a way to send love to people who find solace in hate and fear. I have fears, too, but we don’t fear the same things and we don’t respond to our fears in the same way.

Nothing is as exclusive and extreme as our minds are inclined to perceive. There is “both” where we see “one or the other.” We tend to be more similar to those with whom we disagree than we want to admit, especially in times of conflict.

People are inclined to inflate a point in order to make it. It’s too bad humans haven’t instead worked to develop a keener sense of detecting a point so there would be no need for the inflation.

dscn5467eSpend a little more time around horses and you can witness the art of keen perception. You can also come to discover the incredible power and reach of a heart-field.

Our horses help me to send love everyday. They are tapped in. We put the soccer ball out for them yesterday because the weather was nice and they were showing signs of being in a playful mood. Legacy spent the most time testing out the odd obstacle while the mares focused on their grazing, well placed in comfortable proximity to him.

Hunter expectantly waited for a turn.

They eventually moved over the hill and left the ball alone for a while. When we came back after lunch, the ball was all the way down the slope up against the fence, so someone had been playing with it again.

I’m following their example and letting my perceived obstacle be ignored for a while. When I reclaim my heart center and bolster my love beams, I can approach the situation again to see what happens when I show up.

I am not any less of a person as a result of what happens around me, unless I choose to react poorly.

After some faltering, I’m choosing love.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

November 12, 2016 at 9:47 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nicely said!

    Barry

    November 12, 2016 at 7:28 pm

  2. So sorry to read that you found the election outcome embarrassing, we are on the other side of the fence! We look forward to change with a new outlook on what is called politics ~

    Why can’t I paste pics on WordPress?

    LOVE and BIG 💞🙆🏼💗😍

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    judy priebe

    November 12, 2016 at 5:52 pm

    • Don’t know why about the pics.
      I appreciate your love! Thank you!!

      johnwhays

      November 13, 2016 at 12:25 am


Leave a Reply

