Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Winter Indeed

with 2 comments

I thought it was going to stop snowing early in the day, based on the way the radar looked in the morning, but the flakes just kept falling the whole time I was out shoveling and plowing yesterday. That really messes with my perfectionism for having a clean driveway and walkways.

It is fascinating to me how dramatically life changes between summer and winter. In summer, I get to walk out the door without a thought. Now I pause at the front door for 5 minutes and put on several additional layers of clothes, boots, hat & mittens. It’s the way of winter.

dscn5555eIt has been a long time since I plowed snow with the Grizzly, but in minutes I was back in the routine. Down with the blade, forward gear. Up with the blade, reverse. Back and forth, to and fro. Snow flowing off the blade, off the driveway, and into the ditch.

Summer is a distant memory. I am now fully in winter mode and it feels totally normal to be so. The repetitive motion of shoveling and plowing becomes something of a meditation for me. Meditation with grunting and sweating, that is.

I suppose it’s not much different from mowing the grass in summer.

They just seem worlds apart to me.

I noticed yesterday how my mindset changes dramatically with the seasons, in terms of what is most important. In the spring and summer I work diligently to rake out the gravel from the grass beside the driveway. As I plowed the snow off the gravel driveway yesterday, I had no problem shifting the priority to removing the snow without worrying about pushing gravel up onto the grass.

What matters in this moment isn’t always the same as what matters in another.

Today, snow and cold are the prominent attention grabbers. Winter, indeed.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

December 12, 2016 at 7:00 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes, you are back in your element, John: I never cease to be impressed with how you handle snow – you are in the groove, as the musicians say, and there is an aspect of music in your approach, a playful connection as you set about your tasks. At other times of the year, you may not always flow as much, but now it is the real thing: John embracing all the challenges that winter affords, fully alive.

    Ian Rowcliffe

    December 12, 2016 at 2:08 pm

    • Thank you, Ian. I’m definitely enjoying the return of my favorite season. Now that you mention it, I do feel a musical vibe to the snow months!

      johnwhays

      December 12, 2016 at 2:57 pm


Leave a Reply

