Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Depression Podcast

with 2 comments

hilariousworlddepression328It’s unusual to consider depression something to be laughed at, but maybe laughing at it has some merit. I have discovered a new podcast from American Public Media hosted by humorist John Moe called, “The Hilarious World of Depression.” Through conversations with some nationally respected comedians who share tales of their own experiences with depression, Moe explores a link between the illness and comedy.

The show is sponsored by HealthPartners and its “Make It Okay” campaign. I have long been a fan of the idea that talking about mental health issues is a crucial step toward reducing the stigma normally associated with them.

Depression can be treated. I treat mine everyday. In fact, talking about my experiences is one of the methods I employ to treat my natural tendency toward a depressive mindset.

I think it’s a great thing when humor can be added to the topic that is uncomfortable for most people to discuss. Spread the word about this podcast to people you know. It’s okay to talk about mental illness.

Now we can even laugh at it, too.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

December 16, 2016 at 7:00 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I couldn’t agree more. I listened to the podcasts and look forward to the next installation. I think it is great to talk about it.

    drumminglibrarian

    December 17, 2016 at 1:17 pm

    • It must mean something that some of the people I am greatly inspired by and exceptionally fond of know about the challenges of depression in a way similar to me.
      Thanks for your comment, Bob.

      johnwhays

      December 17, 2016 at 1:24 pm


Leave a Reply

