Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Remembering Clarity

leave a comment »

I’m trying to remember what clarity is like. It seems like it was a long time ago that I last experienced a moment of clarity. Lately, everything is a combination of spider webs and fog interspersed with moments of wind whipped precipitation and hours of lost sleep.

Not lost as in, I don’t know where I put it, but the kind of lost which I can never get back. It’s gone. No longer exists.

dscn5608eBut I can make more. There is more where that came from.

Don’t worry. Even Delilah is confused by all this.

She can’t figure out why I’m not getting over that moment of her violating the sanctity of my dinner plate. If I thought she could understand, I’d explain that it’s because I don’t want to get over it.

Our dog is now facing a new regimen of training in which I re-establish my dominance over her.

I’m not confident that she is putting 2 and 2 together, but I do know that she understands what I’m after when I demand she lay down and let me straddle her and stand very purposefully. She does not want to give up her power without a fair amount of resistance. Outlasting her is one thing that I may not have enough patience for.

I tend to think of myself as a patient man, but I’m finding out there are some situations to which that doesn’t apply.

Or maybe it’s just hampered by a lack of clarity.

I’m hoping that a few nights of decent sleep might produce a new dose of that forgotten clarity. Now, if I could just remember how it was that I got a decent night’s sleep.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

December 23, 2016 at 7:00 am

Leave a Reply

