Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Vacation Disorientation

with 2 comments

It’s a bit dizzying to compound my vacation escape from routine by also burying myself in a memoir while simultaneously binge-watching a spy thriller 6-episode series. What day is it today? Where am I again? Who am I?

I’m certainly not at Wintervale anymore.

dscn5650eWe are up in the woods of northwest Wisconsin. Yesterday morning, as I was comfortably lingering in bed after waking up, I spotted a deer moving through the trees outside our window. Then there was another, moving slowly across my view, pawing and sniffing at the ground as they went.

As I watched, the first one suddenly laid down for a rest. A while later, more deer moved into view, and one by one, they curled up in the snow by the first deer. Eventually there were five of them, and they ended up spending most of the day there, despite a small bit of activity in and out of the front door of the cabin as the hours passed.

I like that our little nook is a spot they find to be comfortable for spending their day.

Meanwhile, I’m reading Robbie Robertson’s “Testimony” and finding my mind ensconced in the 1960s music scene that he describes. Between chapters, Cyndie’s parents have us watching the short series, “The Night Manager,” which involves lavish views of exotic places where thrilling intrigue is at play.

Of course, I submerge myself in the identity of each leading character, so by the end of the day, I have lost myself to being a mixed up compilation of people who are definitely not me.

It feels a little bit like being on vacation.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

December 30, 2016 at 7:00 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like there is no time left for igloo construction.

    Steve

    December 30, 2016 at 9:29 am

    • And not enough snow, either! The recent rain and wind have done quite a number on the quality of snow. On the other hand, the lake is perfect for skating this year!

      johnwhays

      December 30, 2016 at 9:32 am


Leave a Reply

