Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Lost Hope

with 6 comments

I have discovered how important hope can be on the journey to optimal health. It occurred to me the other day that I have lost hope.

I’m sure it is still there, I just can’t find it right now.

Having an unfortunate first-hand experience with depression allows me to recognize how it is possible to live without hope. It is not a healthy place to live. On my journey to good health, I have learned that it is not in my best interest to reside in that space. I am regretfully comfortable in that place, maybe from having too many years of practice in existing that way, but I cannot afford to accommodate that outcome.

I will do some digging to find my hope again. It is a requirement.

Of that, I am acutely aware.

We cannot live on love alone. That is another thing I have come to realize.

I’m going to love finding my hope again.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

January 6, 2017 at 7:05 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It is hard for me to conceive of you in that low space, John. The simple truth is that it is a low time of natural energy. In India, they celebrate Diwali , the festival of lights – all to work at boosting ourselves psychologically at that time – check it out the next time round: what an illustration of artistic skills that actually remind me of your way of being. So, yes, perhaps, it is a time to check back into yourself and pick up on the remarkable things that you come up with – whether it be turning stones, building igloos or putting words on images – all of which transcend those moments! You are an ‘Epoh! phenomenon!

    Ian Rowcliffe

    February 2, 2017 at 9:29 am

    • Thank you, Ian! Diwali is a celebration that resonates for me; “victory of light over darkness, good over evil, knowledge over ignorance, and hope over despair.” Huzzah!

      johnwhays

      February 2, 2017 at 11:10 am

  2. I hear you. Hope on all levels is essential but sometimes it takes more energy than one has. For me sometimes I just have to have faith that my little raft is going to shoot out of the tunnel and back into the sun if I can just stay on it long enough. ❤

    Jane

    January 6, 2017 at 7:29 am

    • Thank you. Your words, and your act of writing are a healing balm…

      johnwhays

      January 6, 2017 at 7:39 am

    • Love the concept of the little raft!!! Waldo – think of it as a “Slide-a-Bogan” (https://www.pinterest.com/pin/482729653785574315/) that you will hop on just off your back deck….You’ll be back on the move in no time! Thinking of you – maybe we need a sibling day?

      Mary

      January 6, 2017 at 11:47 am

      • Wow! A 1974 Slide-a-Boggan!! That’d work. Ooh, a sibling day. I’m in. A little birdie has hinted a cycling group lunch might be initiated soon… How ’bout that possibility?

        johnwhays

        January 6, 2017 at 1:16 pm


Leave a Reply

