Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Snap

with 2 comments

.

.

sometimes when I walk
my ankle cracks
with (snap)
every (snap)
single (snap)
step (snap)
but that isn’t
much of a surprise
given the number of times
that ankle has rolled
and swelled
an explosion of pain
a searing fire of anguish
bursting with adrenaline
from a shock
at the sudden invasion
of a disability
temporary, yes
but such a dramatic switch
from the athletic endeavor
underway for the period of time
just prior to the injury
that eventually heals
so I walk normal again
and play sports again
until it rolls again
leading to what really surprises me
after all of this
just why it is that the sound
of the joint cracking
at every single step
only happens
some of the time

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

February 5, 2017 at 10:42 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Actually, you ask an interesting question as I have the same problem at times. I read somewhere that when your body is low on protein – because of your diet – it starts taking it from the joints. As it happened, the last time it happened to me was when I was not eating meat. This was a big change for me and maybe I shouldn’t have been so radical and reduced my intake ‘in small steps’. Of course, on the other hand, we may simply be pushing ourselves too hard, wanting to get things done. And do ourselves in:-). Nevertheless, it is likely that diet does play a role, especially having to keep up with our aspirations. I guess ‘burn-out’ can happen on the level of the joints, too. So taking time to tune your diet to your needs seems the way to go.

    Ian Rowcliffe

    February 5, 2017 at 11:13 am

    • Diet makes logical sense. Mine hasn’t changed significantly of late. I notice the cracking is common during early morning movement, after a night in bed. Also, in that case, I’m walking without any additional support of shoes.

      johnwhays

      February 5, 2017 at 11:19 am


Leave a Reply

