Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Sheared Again

leave a comment »

dscn5846eHindsight being 20/20, I decided to not chip any more of the large dead oak branches that had been cut out of the oldest trees on our property. Too bad it took busting the replacement shear pin I’d installed 15 minutes earlier to adequately enlighten me.

I switched to exclusively chipping the branches that came out of our maple trees for the rest of the day yesterday and the 3rd shear bolt in two days survived just fine.

The branches of oak would get the chainsaw. That tool didn’t have any problems cutting through the almost petrified oak.

I guess I’ve learned the limitations of my beloved Wallenstein chipper.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

February 20, 2017 at 7:00 am

Posted in Chronicle

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

