Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Modern Convenience

with 5 comments

It was sunny and 60-some degrees at our place yesterday. If it weren’t for the modern convenience of accurate weather forecasting giving us several days warning of an impending snowstorm, I would be completely clueless about what is headed our way. By Friday morning, the view of our property won’t look like this again for a while.

img_1941eI will not be surprised if the alignment of the storm moving in this evening brings us around a foot of snow, based on the models published by the weather services.

Such a significant contrast of weather in just over a day is something I would not be able to comprehend happening without the present day wisdom, and data gleaned from satellites and radar images. My intuitive senses for interpreting the weather are far too dull to perceive that the warm sunshine yesterday afternoon was so quickly going to become a distant memory.img_1925e

At the same time, it is still February, after all. It’s supposed to be wintery weather. So I am well prepared for whatever cold and blowing snow may arrive. I have my special leg warmer to keep me comfortable while chronicling the brutal challenges I face when plowing and shoveling the oodles of snowflakes inbound on our position.

Pequenita seems to like napping on my legs when I stretch out. It’s cute, but can’t be all that comfortable for her, and it tends to lock down my posture long enough that numbness sets in.

Maybe she is sensing the oncoming storm and wants to keep me safe and warm in preparation for doing battle when it comes time to dig out.

In the mean time, I hope to spend most of the day Friday in front of a warm fire, watching the flakes fly outside the windows.

See ya later, warm sunshine.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

February 23, 2017 at 7:00 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The varying weather I keep hearing about is so strange! My son is up north and he said it is 80 today!! I told him it will probably snow tomorrow! Stay warm 🙂 Be well. And I think you are (from the previous post) doing a great job showing who you are because I’m pretty sure I know 😉
    Blessings!

    lorriebowden

    February 23, 2017 at 4:41 pm

    • Thank you, Lorrie! I sometimes embarrass myself with how often my posts end up tagged with “weather.” Life on a farm or ranch pretty much puts you in the bullseye of impact from weather every day. 🙂

      johnwhays

      February 23, 2017 at 5:41 pm

      • And then I feel a little guilty to have abundant sunshine and at least 80 degrees when so many are facing such turbulent conditions! Hope you and yours stay warm…and safe!

        lorriebowden

        February 23, 2017 at 6:52 pm

      • Thanks, Lorrie! Definitely warm and safe right now, beside the coziest of fires looking out on the beautiful, sunny snowscape this morning.

        johnwhays

        February 25, 2017 at 8:47 am

      • Ah, John…I do have to say that is one thing I miss…a beautiful cozy fire…staring into the flames as they dance and feeling the energy! Stay snuggled by the fire! 🙂

        lorriebowden

        February 25, 2017 at 9:34 am


Leave a Reply

