Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Appliance Surgery

leave a comment »

We’re not sure whether the kitchen appliances have been updated in the 27-years since this house was built, but we do know they have a fair amount of mileage on their components. Last week, Cyndie opened the dishwasher door to a shockingly loud CLANK!, crash.

I thought she had yanked it open past a plate or utensil that was somehow snagged. I was wrong.

A few pulls of the door revealed it wasn’t something inside the dishwasher that broke. Root cause diagnosis was made easy by the added evidence of a stray string suddenly appearing from the bottom right corner of the door. I figured a spring had broken, but research revealed the door “cable” that attaches the spring is a common weak link.

I did call local retailers for parts, but unsurprisingly found none in stock. Without having positively confirmed with a service person that I had correctly identified the part needed, I took the risk of ordering the replacement kit online. The site I landed on offered a video demonstration of the process that lie ahead for me.

It gave me confidence it would be something well within my ability.

Now all I needed was the parts.

Through the miracle of tracking, I could watch as my package reached Wisconsin, but failed to be delivered. A day went by. Then another. Finally, the tracking information updated. Even though it was still showing it would be delivered that day, it was now listed as being in Fargo, ND.

Oops.

Fargo must be where they figured out the error of their ways. It was rescheduled for delivery the next day, thank you very much.

dscn5884echWhile I was outside monkeying around with my chainsaw-on-a-pole to clear low-hanging branches, the delivery truck snuck up the driveway and left my parts on the doorstep. In no time, I was on the floor in the kitchen, re-enacting the video I had watched on replacing the door spring cables.

Put another feather in my cap, and add a little more time on the life of our old KitchenAid.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

March 6, 2017 at 7:00 am

Leave a Reply

