Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Alternate Path

with 2 comments

For a very long time, I’ve wanted to clean up branches and trees that have fallen on the old rusty barbed wire fence along our north property line. Doing so could provide an alternate, straighter route for our perimeter trail. Instead of passing in front of the woodshed to get to a trail head that leads down the hill away from the yard, the new path would follow the fence line behind the woodshed, and be a continuation of a trail that currently runs behind the shop garage.

We’ll need to take out a nice thicket of raspberry bushes and ultimately move sections of a downed tree that is so large, previous owners cut it up, but left the pieces in place. The sections were too large to move.

Beyond those two issues, there were only a small number of saplings to be snipped, which is probably one big reason I felt inspired to open up this pathway in the first place. It was already almost there.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Yesterday, I started the effort, thinking it might be quick and easy, once I got out the chainsaw. It was, and it wasn’t. There were a few branches that moved easily after being cut, but there remained a surprising number of the larger limbs that were held firmly in the frozen ground.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Since we have a wealth of branches to be run through the chipper in that area, I’m planning to bring the tractor back there anyway, so I figure the hydraulic power of the loader might be the solution to moving the heavy sections of that tree trunk.

The question I haven’t answered is whether I will have better luck while the ground is still frozen, or should wait until after the thaw.

Today may involve a test of the frozen option.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

March 12, 2017 at 9:27 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good luck with the frozen option, sure seems like it should be easier especially with the large pieces.

    Jim Parker (@drjparker)

    March 12, 2017 at 12:41 pm

    • I ended up opting to wait. I think there is more to gain by getting a better assessment of the situation after I can discern what is tree and what is soil.
      I’m now thinking I could use part of it as a new base for my log splitter, so plan to cut it into small enough pieces that I will be able to move them easier, too.

      johnwhays

      March 13, 2017 at 7:32 am


Leave a Reply

