Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

We’re Nesting

with 2 comments

The due date is upon us. Baby chicks are scheduled to ship today and we are preparing for delivery at Wintervale Ranch. Cyndie even bought a stuffed chicken with real feathers that she hoped to use in training Delilah about the soon-to-be-expanding clan we want her to accept as one of our pack. Didn’t really work because she isn’t the least bit interested in it.

We decided to use one of our existing troughs as the brooder, hoping to devise a mount for the heat lamp that will avoid the melting of whatever non-metal material it is.

Over the weekend, I fabricated a mesh cover for it from a roll left over from one of my attempts to protect the trees in the paddock. At first, I thought it was a hassle that it wanted to roll back up and not stay flat, but once I got the dowels attached, that turned out to be a feature, not a bug.

It tends to “grab” the lip of the tub for a nice firm fit.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I was wrestling with bending the branches I wanted for the radius at each end when I remembered the cuts in the tree stump that Cyndie had photographed, which I recently featured in a post. I made a little slice part way through the branches which facilitated the bend just enough.

You never know from where inspiration might eventually arrive.

We are going to take a shot at raising them in the barn. I’m trying to figure out where I will end up putting a bed out there for Cyndie, since I expect she won’t be able to leave them untended out there for any length of time.

I sure hope these birds will have big appetites for bugs.

If all goes well, I have a feeling we are going to need a bigger coop.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

March 21, 2017 at 6:00 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very innovate, good job.

    Jim Parker (@drjparker)

    March 21, 2017 at 8:09 am

    • Thanks, Jim! Hoping further innovations will help us novices succeed in bringing chicks to maturity. 🙂

      johnwhays

      March 21, 2017 at 9:58 am


Leave a Reply

