Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Mildly Hesitant

with 4 comments

I found myself mildly hesitant yesterday about writing of our having ordered chicks. I had it in my mind when building the coop last fall that we might be able to get our hands on some adult chickens for our starter flock. Instead, we are starting with chicks. That involves a bit more nurturing than I’d been contemplating.

I should be thankful. We could have gone all the way and opted to hatch them from eggs. With no previous experience in this realm of chicken raising, there is always a chance disaster could happen and we might make some fatal error that takes innocent lives.

I wasn’t sure I wanted to blog such a possible outcome and expose the personal failure. Then it occurred to me, that is what I do.

In discussing this topic with Katie at work, I became aware of a change that has transpired in the four-plus years Cyndie and I have been here. When we first arrived from our lifetimes in the suburbs, we were entirely naive about almost every situation we faced.

Long time readers might recall that we didn’t realize we already had a hitch installed on the old pickup truck we bought. I had no experience with a chainsaw. We didn’t know anything about growing hay. We’ve come a long way. I would even say I’ve had a few moments of feeling cocky about our accomplishments.

So, it dawned on me that cockiness was bringing me to a place where I felt less inclined to write about the things with which we still have no experience, like raising chickens.

I guess I’ve quickly worked through that hesitation I was feeling. This John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences currently involves our ongoing transition from a suburban lifestyle to a rural ranch, one experimental step at a time.

Hopefully, next year I will be reporting about how few flies and ticks we are bothered by after the addition of chickens to our menagerie. Maybe also, how the transplanted tree in the labyrinth is thriving.

If those things don’t happen, I’ll likely have chronicled about that, instead. Chronicling the whole range of adventures we are living, both the successes and failures, is what I do. Even if sometimes, with a little hesitation.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

March 22, 2017 at 6:00 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I can’t wait to hear all about the chickens!!! And if it makes you feel any better, we are two years in and still doing LOTS of learning. Biggest lesson so far has been to let them do their own thing most of the time; they for sure know better than me.

    What kind are they? And did you get all females, or straight run?

    Liz Shatek

    March 22, 2017 at 9:36 am

    • Ummm… I think all females. I’ll need to get that answer from Cyndie. She placed the order. I do know she chose 3 different types.
      I will be glad to let them do their own thing. That’s a goal of mine.

      johnwhays

      March 22, 2017 at 10:17 am

  2. Take heart, chickens are hearty creatures. While chickens have been known to die I think you are probably in much greater danger from predators than of you making a fatal error. Even the little one don’t take much nurturing just make sure they have food and water.

    Jim Parker (@drjparker)

    March 22, 2017 at 8:07 am

    • Hoping! Cyndie just texted that the post office called for her to come pick up her chicks! Here we go!

      johnwhays

      March 22, 2017 at 9:25 am


Leave a Reply

