Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Some Progress

with 2 comments

I’m pretty sure I mentioned that the cleanup from our late winter tree trimming was going to be such an extensive project it would take the full summer to accomplish. I think that under-estimates the size of the project. One reason is the number of downed branches that were in our woods before we added to it with the trimming.

As we start the process of collecting branches from the trimming, it leads to a seemingly unending supply of other downed wood that also deserves to come out. We spent most of the morning yesterday cleaning out the section of woods where I had pulled down the three leaning widow-makers last summer.

This created monstrous new piles on the edge of the trail.

After lunch, I brought out the tractor and chipper to get down to business. We started in the back yard where the smaller maple tree branches were in three reasonable piles. With so much to do, I probably was trying to go too fast. Not paying enough attention to the exit chute, I was still feeding branches in after a plug had formed.

The spinning blades of the chipper will continue to pulverize the wood into dust. The dust finds any opening to escape and a cloud starts to form around the machine. That part finally got my attention. Oops.

After a significant delay to open the unit up and remove the plug and scraps wrapped around the spindle, we got back into the groove and made reasonable progress. By the end of the day, we hadn’t made it around to the two newest piles we stacked in the morning, but we converted one of the oldest piles in the woods into a mini-mountain of chips.

As much as I’d like to have our entire property done all at once, I’m working to accept the partial progress as good enough. Getting the chips spread along the trail helps to serve as a nice reward that soothes my angst in the mean time.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

April 8, 2017 at 8:58 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I realized last week that the projects on the land here in NC will certainly last much longer than I will. For some reason this also made me feel very content. I will continue to work and make progress on what needs to be done and what I want to do but feel no pressure. Life is good.

    Jim Parker (@drjparker)

    April 9, 2017 at 8:41 am

    • Good, indeed! I often refer to my drive to get a maple tree to transplant to the center of our labyrinth so that it will eventually tower like its 100+ year old parent 30 yards to the northeast.
      I want it to look awesome, 100 years after I’m long gone.

      johnwhays

      April 9, 2017 at 9:23 am


Leave a Reply

