Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Unwelcome Infestation

leave a comment »

Yesterday started with a shock for us. We had just stepped out of bed and were getting dressed to take Delilah out to tend to the horses. Delilah strangely fixated on something that we assumed must be a dog toy that had rolled under the chair.

I suggested it was probably a mouse. I had the wrong pest.

Oh my gosh! ANTS!

I grabbed a flashlight to look under the chair for Delilah so I could pull out what she was so interested in. What the heck!? Ants have moved in and taken up residence at this outlet. They must like the warm transformer to incubate their eggs.

Maybe they thrive on electricity.

I wonder if our carbon monoxide detector still works. I didn’t test it.

When I saw all the wood particles, I worried, “Termites?”

Naw. The ants were just pulling out the scraps left in the opening cut for the outlet box.

Ain’t home ownership grand?

.

(Today’s post partially delayed by the very distracting youtube live stream of April the giraffe giving birth…)

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

April 15, 2017 at 9:41 am

Leave a Reply

