Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Killer Cake

with 2 comments

Last week we celebrated George’s birthday with a dinner at our place. After serving an incredible dinner, Cyndie announced she made an ice cream cake for dessert. That was news to me. I didn’t know anything about it. She’d never made one for me on any of my birthdays before. And ice cream is my favorite.

It was amazing. Absolutely amazing.

Never mind my goal to eat a healthy daily percentage of sugar, this monstrosity was probably a week’s worth in every bite. It was worth every excessive gram.

It’s a simple recipe. Just use Oreo crumbles and homemade dark chocolate hot fudge for a base.

Add a layer of cookie dough ice cream.

Top that with caramel.

Then add a layer of dark chocolate zanzibar ice cream.

Follow that with a layer of pecans and more of the hot fudge.

Next comes coffee java chip ice cream (for George and Cyndie’s portion / more cookie dough ice cream on my 1/3rd).

Finish that layer with Oreo cookie halves and chocolate toffee crunch that hardens when frozen.

Freeze good and hard and you have an extravaganza of spectacular flavors.

I am forever grateful for the occasion of George’s birthday this year. It has added a feature to Cyndie’s culinary creations that I never knew existed.

Oh my.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It was sure yummy. 🙂

    George Walker

    May 17, 2017 at 6:21 am

    • It was the first thing I wanted when we got home from the lake.

      johnwhays

      May 17, 2017 at 6:55 am


Leave a Reply

