Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Flashingly Flooded

with 2 comments

Tears. I could feel them through the text message I was seeing on my phone. Cyndie was getting a first look at the results of Wednesday’s heavy rains. Her flowering perennial garden had suffered a direct hit from the flood of water that poured onto our property from the farm field to our north.

In my pre-dawn departure for work, I had not noticed the extent of topsoil slop that had washed over our land. The much more obvious evidence I did see, which revealed the significance of overnight flooding, came in the form of field debris coating the roads.

I also spotted the dramatically high level of water overflowing the banks of the small creeks and waterways as I traveled the roads away from home.

Nature’s wrath has little regard for our feeble efforts to confine the actions of our environment.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

May 19, 2017 at 6:00 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m so sorry about the flower garden. I am glad you are safe and you had no damage to your home or animals.

    • Thank you, Jim, for the added perspective. Home and animals suffered no ill-effects from the excessive rainfall. As it is, I think the garden will recover quickly, too.

      johnwhays

      May 19, 2017 at 11:41 pm


Leave a Reply

