Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

Beating Heat

with 3 comments

Although Arabian horses were bred to perform under harsh desert conditions, the humidity that we get with our high heat is enough to make all species a little irritated. In the summer, we offer our horses a warm dusty breeze that moves enough air to toss their manes and chase off some flies.

It actually seems like little comfort, blowing hot, humid air, but Legacy has taken a particular liking to it.

Delilah prefers to lay on the cool tile in the house. Her fur coat doesn’t allow for wind to be much help. Luckily, she is a big fan of sprayed water from the hose, so we can shrink her coat dramatically by getting her wet.

We are arriving upon my last weekend before the annual June biking and camping week. I will be looking for a way to spend some time on the bike seat without putting myself at risk of heat stroke. It would be really helpful if I could rig up a mount on my tractor instead, so I could sit on my bike seat while mowing the lawn.

Speaking of mowing, I will be picking up the old Craftsman rider from the shop this morning. Now I can return the borrowed John Deere and get back to my own rig. I’ll be able to find out if it runs well under intense heat, that’s for sure.

The summer heat has brought out the lightning bugs. With the strawberry moon glowing brilliantly last night, the neon green flashes dancing above the tall grasses made for a glorious nighttime walk with Delilah as I rolled the trash and recycling bins down to the road.

George has come back for the weekend while he is serving his farrier clients in the region. I tended to the horses while he trimmed our herd after dinner. Cayenne is making good progress. He removed her shoes and left her bare foot again.

It may be hot, but things here are actually running pretty cool.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Written by johnwhays

June 9, 2017 at 6:00 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well versed in humidity and heat here! My mare took quite a while to get used to it!!!

    Avery

    June 9, 2017 at 8:40 am

    • It’s tough watching the large animals suffer the elements. Lots easier bringing them in out of a cold rain to get warm and dry than it is to keep them comfortable in the humid heat.
      I’m so happy they appreciate our effort of providing the fans.

      johnwhays

      June 9, 2017 at 9:07 am


Leave a Reply

