Relative Something

*this* John W. Hays’ take on things and experiences

This Why

with 5 comments

This is why we can’t have a nice paved driveway like the other folks around here whose asphalt looks incredibly well-maintained.

We have an ongoing need for dump-truck loads of lime screenings for our paddocks.

That loaded dump-truck really makes an impression on the land. As he prepared to depart, I asked the driver to NOT center his truck on the driveway on the way out, and instead to run one set of wheels right down the middle. I’ve been trying to do the same with our vehicles ever since his visit last year, but haven’t had much effect on the eruption of cracked pavement the truck left for us that time.

Household discussion last night:

John: “Should I try to spread some lime screenings tomorrow?”

Cyndie: “Maybe.”

J: “Should I pull the T-posts instead?”

C: “Maybe.”

J: “Should I move the composted manure out?”

C: “Maybe.”

J: “Should I work on dividing the chicken coop?”

C: “Maybe.”

I think she got my point, and seeing as how I wasn’t getting any help with prioritizing, I chose not to continue with the thirteen other things also deserving attention.

It’s a good thing we are so smitten with each other, or these kinds of exchanges would take on additional unstated intentions. In our case, it just added to the love already present. Her refusal to take my bait brought a smile to my face. Our current healthy communication is a return on an investment we made long ago toward a few years of couples therapy.

This is why we can have nice conversations unburdened by alternate unstated agendas.

Well, that and the fact Cyndie gracefully puts up with my endless ribbing. If she wasn’t so saintly, I’d have needed to make myself a bed out in Delilah’s kennel years ago.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Unbelievable!!! It sounds a little like our conversations at times. Love you both.
    Mom

    Grandma Marie really just Marie

    July 11, 2017 at 8:23 pm

  2. You two are an inspiration. Love you both! 💞

    Liz

    July 11, 2017 at 11:50 am

    • Thanks! And you inspire us, so it goes both ways! Seriously, we have even wondered about getting pigs to utilize some of our excess pasture not getting grazed…

      johnwhays

      July 11, 2017 at 11:56 am

      • Pigs are great, I LOVE them!

        Liz

        July 12, 2017 at 11:32 pm


Leave a Reply

